

Engagement Scholarship Consortium Names Recipients of 2019 Excellence Awards Program

June 3, 2019

For Immediate Release

HARRISONBURG and **BLACKSBURG**, **Va.** – The Engagement Scholarship Consortium (ESC) has announced recipients in the 2019 Excellence Awards Program. Winners were selected by a distinguished panel of scholars from submissions by two- and four-year public and private colleges and universities across the country.

The recipients, program titles and the award titles are:

- **Swarthmore College**, for Chester Community Fellowship Program, Excellence in Student Community Engagement.
- Western Carolina University, for University Participant (UP) Program, Excellence in Faculty Community Engagement.
- University of Nebraska Omaha, for P–16 Initiative, Excellence in Community Partner Engagement.
- The Ohio State University, the Ryan, Moser, Reilly Award for Excellence in Community Engagement Institutional Leadership.
- **Dr. Amy Driscoll**, for contributions to the field of engaged scholarship, the inaugural Hiram E. Fitzgerald Distinguished Engaged Scholar. Driscoll is a senior scholar at the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.

ESC Board President Dr. Samory T. Pruitt, vice president for community affairs at The University of Alabama, underscored the importance of the highly competitive program. "These institutions and Dr. Driscoll exemplify the best engagement scholarship has to offer and demonstrate innovative and practical solutions to some of the most critical problems facing our nation and world today," Pruitt said.

The formal awards program will be held during ESC's 2019 Annual Conference in Denver, Colorado on Tuesday, October 8. In addition to the awards presentations, institutional leaders will share best practices during the Excellence Awards Program concurrent session.

The ESC Awards Program provides important recognition opportunities for students, faculty, community partners and higher education institutions, and increases opportunities for enhanced peer learning. ESC is the premier resource for higher education institutions and their faculty, staff, students and community partners focused on promoting excellence in the scholarship and practice of engaged scholarship locally and globally.

To register for the conference, visit

https://engagementscholarship.org/conference/esc-2019-meeting/registration.

Contacts: Melissa Maybury Lubin, Engagement Scholarship Consortium Awards Committee chair and dean of outreach and engagement, James Madison University, 540-568-4253, lubin2mm@jmu.edu; Susan E. Short, Engagement Scholarship Consortium Executive Committee member-at-large and associate vice president for engagement, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, 540-231-9497, sshort@vt.edu.